Laundry and housework aren’t all that exciting…

I haven’t posted in a while, mostly due to the craziness of this time of year (shopping and baking and being merry), but also because I have been doing some freelance design work. It’s hard to find time to do much of anything between my full-time job, a few freelance projects and general day-to-day life. Laundry and housework aren’t all that exciting so I don’t blog about them…

Here’s a look at the projects I have been up to over the last month or so since I posted last. My goal this past year was to get in to web design so all of the projects below are web-related which is very different for me but exciting at the same time.

My recently redesigned and updated website

I recently redesigned and updated my website to feature more current work: www.sarahrbutler.com
The newly redesigned website for Main Street Arts, a gallery in Clifton Springs, NY.

A website for Main Street Arts, a gallery in Clifton Springs, NY:www.mainstreetartsgallery.com

The redesigned website of Bradley Butler, artist, et. cetera

The redesigned website of Bradley Butler, artist, et. cetera: www.bradleybutler.net

13 varieties of pie for my husband's 30th birthday party; 160 mini pies total

13 varieties of pie for my husband’s 30th birthday party; 160 mini pies total

I also recently made 150 little pies for my husband’s 30th birthday party. I thought this was somewhat of an accomplishment so that’s why I decided to include it. The 13 varieties included: cherry, raspberry, blueberry, apple, peanut butter, lemon, pumpkin, coconut cream, Boston cream, key lime, banana, pecan and chocolate. I also had to transport these little pies to the party location in the middle of a snow storm. But it was all worth it because I have a wonderful husband!

Something that I have really been itching to do, but just haven’t been able to find the time, is to work with paper. I haven’t quite figured out what I’d like to do, but I know the general direction. I’ve always been inspired by the way the landscape looks from above. Something about the way the land is divided into a grid really speaks to me as a designer. A few years ago, when flying into NYC, I thought it would be an interesting idea to base designs off of aerial images. Working within the confines of a previously established grid system. My idea didn’t go any further…

More recently, I traveled across the country with a friend of mine. I flew out to Portland, OR from Buffalo, NY very early on a Sunday morning. About half way through my flight, from the plane window, I saw mountain ranges and deserts from above; something I never saw with my own eye before. Wow! This reignited my idea to capture the landscape from an aerial view.

On this trip, I told myself that I’d like to become a paper artist. For my birthday this past summer, my husband bought me some supplies in hopes that I would use them; for the reasons I mentioned above (work, freelancing, life) I have yet to do so. I intend to take out these supplies and put them to good use! Stay tuned to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

